DBT- Linehan Board of Certification, Certified Program™

Treatment Goals

Stages of DBT treatment

Stage One

  • Decreasing or eliminating life-threatening behaviors (e.g., suicide attempts, suicidal thinking, self-injury, homicidal and aggressive behaviors)
  • Decreasing or eliminating therapy-interfering behaviors (e.g., missing sessions, not doing homework, behaving in a way that burns others out)
  • Reducing or eliminating hospitalization as a way of handling crisis
  • Decreasing behaviors that interfere with the quality of life (not going to work or school, binge eating, addiction, avoidance behavior, anger outbursts, skin picking)
  • Increasing behaviors that will enable a life worth living
  • Increasing behavioral skills that help to build relationships, manage emotions, and deal effectively with various life problems

Stage Two

  • Continuing and building on Stage One skills
  • Targeting and decreasing symptoms of post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other anxiety- or depression-related symptoms

Stage Three

  • Increasing love and respect for self and others
  • Affirming individual life goals
  • Solving ordinary life problems

Stage Four

  • Developing the capacity for freedom and joy
  • Creating a life worth living
“DBT skills are now a part of my daily living. They have improved the ease with which I move through life.”